“Window” – Mike Woods

I wrote this a number of years ago. For some reason, I think of it often. I used a few of the ideas in a new song I’m working on it. Keep your ears peeled. Enjoy.

Window

In my dream I’m seamlessly
staring into a window glaring back
you appear in pieces stacking
one on top of the next
connecting right to left
like a living, breathing puzzle,
beautiful and complex.

Your lips move hypnotically and
I’m obviously obsessed except
all I hear is silence as quiet as
a good secret kept.

I remember when we used to look
through this glass together
grasping fingers promising to be
on the same side forever,
facing love, sweat, and tears,
but all I feel now is a
flood of threats and fears
of just how long I’ll stay here
alone in this place. And
how many more seconds
you’re willing to waste,
letting this window divide us,
two instead of one,
depriving us both of
the warm rays of the sun.

So let go, disconnect, and be free,
and accept that fate’s sworn to
interject, step forth, and just
be.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

