“Cigarette” – Mike Woods

Maybe you’ve been on one end or the other of this habit? Maybe both. Either way, it’s a tough one to quit. Enjoy.

Cigarette

Like a lit cigarette, my body is
burning into ashes of regret.
Ascension of smoky souls rising
and setting over the rolling hills of
another dimension but still realizing
the threatening holes of thrill
that disguising and hiding
are attempting to fill.

Dangling between your fingers,
I don’t feel safe.
With more of me escaping
every time you taste,
facing the fact that I’m
more of a routine than
part of your plan and
I don’t stand as tall
as I did when this began.

But when I touch your lips,
it still feels right.
Freedom unlike any other
feeling we fight fire with fire
rushing through me to the tip
inspiring you to simply
tighten your grip.

Because through all of this,
the one thing I know is,
for whatever reason,
you just can’t let me go.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

